Vaping Regulations per State

Vaping Regulations per State

"

Vaping Regulations per State (so far)


If you're looking for the regulations for YOUR state, this is a great resource for just that! The Public Health Law Center released a snapshot pdf (that's 87 pages LONG) of each state's vaping regulations. Per FDA regulations, no sale to minors (which is great, and something ZampleBox totally supports, and is committed to not selling to minors), but in each state, the rules are a little different. Some states have banned the online purchase of tobacco products, which, per the FDA's deeming rules, includes vapor products. Check out the list below for all current American vaping regulations, arranged alphabetically by state.. Feel free to comment below if you have any questions!

NOTE: The regulations can change and alter at any given time and may not be true in future dates

Alabama
""Purchase, use or possession of alternative nicotine products by persons under age 19 prohibited"" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 2.)

Alaska
""Purchase, use or possession of alternative nicotine products by persons under age 19 prohibited"" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 2.)

Arizona
""Sale of vapor product to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession of vapor product by person under age 18 prohibited. Use of e-cigarettes is prohibited in foster homes and vehicles when foster child present."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 3.)

Arkansas
""E-liquid containers must be sold in child-resistant packaging (excepting pre-filled cartridges not intended to be opened by the consumer.). Sale of vapor products, eliquids or any component thereof prohibited. Distribution of vapor products, e-liquids or components, free samples or coupons for free samples thereof near youth-centered places or to persons under age 18 is prohibited. Retail License / Permit is required. Use of vapor products or eliquids on grounds of any school or at off-campus school-sponsored events, in or on the grounds of any child care facility or healthcare facility prohibited. Possession/purchase of vapor products, e-liquids or components thereof by persons under age 18 prohibited. Retailers and vending machine operators must obtain permit to sell vapor products and eliquids. Self-service displays or vending machine sales of vapor products or e-liquids restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 18; except that restriction does not apply to tobacco businesses, some vending machines, and vape shops. Use of e-cigarettes “prohibited on each campus of state-supported institutions of higher education."" Use of e-cigarettes in registered day-care facilities prohibited. Use of e-cigarettes near State Park buildings restricted."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 3 & 4.)

California
""Electronic cigarette cartridges and solutions for filling electronic cigarettes must be sold in child- resistant packaging. Sale of electronic cigarettes to persons under age 21 prohibited (active duty military personnel must be at least 18). Self-service displays prohibited (except vending machines in bars). Vending machines must be located inside a bar at least 15 feet from entrance. Retailers must obtain a license. Use of electronic cigarettes prohibited wherever smoking is prohibited including, but not limited to, places of employment, day care facilities, foster and group homes, and within 25 feet of playgrounds. Schools cannot allow students to use tobacco products, including electronic cigarettes, on campus or whole attending school- sponsored activities. Department of Education will require all school districts, charter schools and county offices of education to adopt and enforce policy prohibiting use of electronic cigarettes. Use of nicotine delivery devices prohibited in county offices of education, charter schools, school/district buildings, school/district property, and school/district vehicles. Director of State Hospitals can ban tobacco product use or possession on state hospital grounds upon request."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 8,9 & 10.)

Colorado
""Sale and distribution of nicotine products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Possession or purchase of nicotine products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales restricted to more private locations (such as offices), places inaccessible to minors or under control of adult employee. Use of nicotine products prohibited on school grounds. Use of nicotine products “in and around licensed child care facilities"" prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 10 & 11.)

Connecticut
""Sale/delivery of electronic nicotine delivery system or vapor product to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession of electronic nicotine delivery system or vapor product by persons under age 18 prohibited. Dealers of electronic nicotine delivery systems or vapor products must register with the state. Manufacturers of electronic nicotine delivery systems or vapor products (including the mixing, compounding, repackaging or resizing of any nicotine-containing product) must register with state. Use of electronic nicotine delivery system or vapor product prohibited in any state building, health care institution, retail food store, restaurant, liquor store, bar (except smoking sections of outdoor seating areas), school buildings, child care facilities, elevators, college dormitories, race tracks, and in more than 25% of hotel/motel rooms."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 11 & 12.)

Delaware
""Sale/distribution of tobacco substitutes to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase of tobacco substitutes by persons under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays/vending machine sales of tobacco substitutes prohibited in places accessible to persons under age 18. Use of electronic smoking devices restricted in same manner as smoking; prohibited in public indoor places in which smoking is prohibited. Use of electronic smoking devices permitted in vape shops which restrict entry to persons over age 18."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 16.)

District of Columbia
""Vapor products taxed at rate equal to tax imposed on cigarette packs, expressed as percentage of average wholesale price. No person may manufacture, or sell vapor products without first obtaining a license. Use of electronic cigarettes on streetcar or streetcar platform prohibited. Use of electronic cigarettes prohibited in or within 25 feet of any public library building."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 17 & 18.)

Florida
""Sale/distribution of nicotine dispensing devices or nicotine products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Possession of nicotine dispensing devices or nicotine products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays of nicotine products or nicotine dispensing devices prohibited in places accessible to persons under 18 years except when under direct control or line of sight of retailer, or sales made through vending machine with lockout device controlled by retailer. Use of electronic cigarettes in courthouses of Sixth Judicial Circuit and within 50 feet of entrances thereto prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 18 & 19.)

Georgia
""Sale of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Distribution of free vapor products on public property, within 500 feet of playground or school, or to persons under the age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales of vapor products restricted to locations not readily accessible to persons under age 18 (excepting machines under control of employee or located at highway rest areas)."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 20 & 21.)

Hawaii
""Sale/distribution of electronic smoking devices to persons under age 21 prohibited. Purchase of electronic smoking device by person under age 21 prohibited. Possession or use of electronic smoking device by person under age 21 in public prohibited. Distribution of samples of electronic smoking devices on public property or within 1000 feet of a school is prohibited. Self-service displays and vending machine sales of electronic smoking devices prohibited except in duty-free facilities and adult-only tobacco businesses. Use of electronic smoking devices prohibited in places smoking prohibited, including enclosed or partially enclosed places that are: owned, leased or operated by the state or counties, open to the public, places of employment, sports arenas/stadiums, and within 20 feet of entrances and exits to such places. Use of electronic smoking devices prohibited in state parks."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 22 & 23.)

Idaho
""Sale/distribution of electronic cigarettes to persons under age 18 prohibited. Possession/purchase/distribution/use of electronic cigarettes by persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales and self-service displays of electronic cigarettes restricted to adult-only tobacco stores. Shipment of e-cigarettes must include statement re: prohibition on shipping to individuals under age 18."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 23 & 24.)

Illinois
""Electronic cigarette liquids may only be sold in “special packaging"" pursuant to rules adopted by the Department of Public Health, excluding e- cigarette products sold in “sealed, pre-filled, or disposable replacement cartridges."" Sale/Distribution of alternative nicotine products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Possession of alternative nicotine products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Self-service display of alternative nicotine products restricted to adult-only tobacco stores. Use of products containing nicotine prohibited in places smoking prohibited on public higher education campuses."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 24 & 25.)

Indiana
""Nicotine liquid and gel must be sold in child- resistant packaging, unless pre- filled, sealed and not intended to be opened by consumer. E-liquid container must use a tamper evident package and label must identify nicotine content, active ingredients, among other requirements. Sale/distribution of electronic cigarettes to persons under age 18 prohibited. Sale of e-liquids to persons under age 18 prohibited. Possession/purchase of electronic cigarettes by persons under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays and vending machine sales of electronic cigarettes restricted to places inaccessible to persons under age 18. Retailers of electronic cigarettes must be registered. Manufacture (including mixing, bottling, packaging and sale) of e-liquids restricted to persons with proper permits. E-liquid ingredients are limited to those approved in statute or by the Department of Health or the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and manufacture/mixing/storage of e-liquid must comply with state law. E-liquid retailers and those who mix or bottle e-liquid must obtain a permit."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 25, 26 & 27)

Iowa
""Sale/distribution of vapor products to anyone under age 18 prohibited. Possession/purchase/use of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Retailers must obtain a permit before selling vapor products. No distribution of free vapor products to persons under age 18 or within 500 feet of places primarily used by minors. Self-service displays prohibited. Vending machine sales restricted to adult-only locations. Use of electronic cigarettes prohibited on state-operated and owned buildings and outdoor grounds used in connection with the building, except in privately-owned buildings located on Capitol Complex property."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 29 & 30.)

Kansas
""Privilege tax for sale or dealing of electronic cigarettes “at the rate of $0.20 per milliliter of consumable material."" Sale/distribution of electronic cigarettes to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession of electronic cigarettes by person under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays of electronic cigarettes restricted to tobacco specialty stores and vending machine inaccessible to persons under age 18 or which has a lock-out device. Retailers of electronic cigarettes must obtain a license."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 30.)

Kentucky
""Sale of vapor products or alternative nicotine product to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase of vapor products or alternative nicotine products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Possession/use of vapor products or alternative nicotine products by person under age 18 prohibited. Distribution of free vapor products or alternative nicotine products to persons under age 18 years prohibited. Vending machines must be inaccessible to persons under age 18 or in line of sight of cashier. Use of electronic cigarettes and vaping devices prohibited on any and all properties owned or operated by the Executive branch, including buildings, land and vehicles. Includes certain health care facilities, veterans’ facilities, state parks, fairgrounds and highway rest areas."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 30 & 31.)

Louisiana
""Vapor products and electronic cigarettes taxed at $0.05 per milliliter of consumable nicotine liquid solution or other material containing nicotine that is depleted as a vapor product is used. Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase of vapor product by persons under age 18 prohibited. Possession of vapor product by persons under age 18 prohibited unless accompanied by parent or in a private residence. Self-service displays of vapor products restricted to tobacco businesses and vending machines located in age- restricted settings. Permits required for retailers of vapor products. "" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 33 & 34.)

Maine
""Nicotine liquid containers must be sold/distribute d in child- resistant packaging. Use of electronic smoking devices prohibited in most places smoking prohibited, including certain indoor public spaces, places of employment, day care/babysitting facilities, motor vehicles with children under 16, and certain outdoor areas including near beaches, state parks and historic sites."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 35 & 36.)
NOTE: Maine does not have state regulations on sale of ""tobacco products"" to minors, but the FDA does - therefore still applies to Maine.

Marysland
""Sale of “an electronic device, a component for an electronic device, or a product used to refill or resupply an electronic device that can be used to deliver nicotine to the individual inhaling from the device, including an electronic cigarette, cigar, cigarillo, or pipe"" to minors prohibited (excluding FDA-approved “tobacco cessation products"")."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 38.)

Massachusetts
""Liquids or gels containing nicotine must be sold in child-resistant package. Sale of electronic smoking devices to persons under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays and vending machine sales of electronic smoking devices restricted to adult-only facilities. Sampling of electronic smoking devices prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 38 & 39.)

Michigan
""Vaping is banned in all eclosed workplaces, exempting bars and restaurants.""(Mechling, Tim. ""Vaping Regulations by State: Ted Talks Trash on Tyranny - Mt Baker Vapor.)""

Minnesota
""Tax of 95% of wholesale price imposed on tobacco products, including e- cigarettes. Liquids intended for human consumption and use in an electronic delivery device (whether contain nicotine or not) must be sold in child resistant packaging. Sale/distribution of electronic delivery devices prohibited to persons under age 18. Purchase/possession of electronic delivery device by person under age 18 prohibited. Sale of electronic delivery devices from a moveable place of business (kiosk) prohibited. Self-service displays of electronic delivery devices restricted to adult-only tobacco businesses and vending machines in locations inaccessible to persons under age 18. Retailers selling electronic delivery devices must be licensed by the county (unless licensed by municipality) in which they are located. Use of electronic delivery devices prohibited in day care and health facilities, and certain publicly- owned buildings. Use of electronic delivery devices prohibited in public schools and any facility or vehicle owned, rented or leased by the school district."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 40 & 41.)

Mississippi
""Sale of alternative nicotine products or any cartridge or component to persons under 18 prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 41.)

Missouri
""Nicotine liquid containers must be sold in child-resistant packaging. Sale of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales restricted to places inaccessible to persons under age 18 or through machines equipped with lock-out device. Purchase of vapor products by persons less than age 18 prohibited. Retailers must obtain retail sales tax license."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 42 & 43.)

Montana
""Retailers must obtain license. Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales restricted to bars where machine is under direct line- of-sight supervision. Possession/use of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 43 & 44.)

Nebraska
""Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Use of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales of vapor products are restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 18. Self-service displays restricted to tobacco specialty stores and cigar bars."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 45 & 46.)

Nevada
""Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 46 & 47.)

New Hampshire
""Sale/distribution of e-cigarettes and liquid nicotine to persons under age 18 prohibited. Distribution of free e- cigarettes or liquid nicotine prohibited except in locations inaccessible to persons under age 18 or licensed retail tobacco store. Purchase/possession/use of e- cigarettes or liquid nicotine by persons under age 18 prohibited. Use of e-cigarette and liquid nicotine on “public educational facility"" grounds prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 48.)

New Jersey
""Liquid nicotine must be sold in child-resistant containers. Sale/distribution of electronic smoking device to person under age 19 prohibited. Use of electronic smoking device included in definition of “smoking"" and prohibited in same spaces smoking prohibited, including indoor public places, workplaces and schools (with some exceptions)."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 49.)

New Mexico
""Nicotine liquid Containers must be child-resistant (unless pre-filled and not intended to be opened by consumer). E-cigarettes and nicotine liquid containers must be sold in “original factory-sealed package"". Sale/distribution of e- cigarettes or a nicotine liquid container to persons under age 18 prohibited. Procurement of e-cigarette or nicotine liquid container by persons under age 18 prohibited. E-cigarettes and nicotine liquid containers may only be sold by a retailer face-to-face. Self-service displays of e- cigarettes and nicotine liquid containers prohibited. Vending machine sales are restricted to adult-only locations. Distribution of free e- cigarettes or nicotine liquid containers to persons under age 18 prohibited. Use/possession/distribution of nicotine liquid containers and e- cigarettes prohibited on school property and by students at school-sponsored activities."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 51 & 52.)

New York
""Liquid nicotine must be sold in a child resistant bottle. Sale/distribution of e- cigarettes or liquid nicotine to persons under age 18 prohibited. Self service displays of e- cigarettes or liquid nicotine prohibited except in tobacco businesses. Vending machine sales of e- cigarettes permitted in limited locations and must be visible to and under the direct control of person in charge. E-cigarette use restricted similar to smoking on Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority property."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 54.)

North Carolina
""Vapor products taxed at rate of $0.05/fluid ml. of consumable product. E-liquid containers for e-liquid products containing nicotine must be child- resistant and must state the product contains nicotine. Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales of vapor products restricted to locations inaccessible to minors or where controlled by owner. Purchase of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Retail dealers of vapor products must obtain a license. Use/possession of vapor products prohibited on State correctional facilities premises, except for religious purposes."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 55.)

North Dakota
""Nicotine liquid containers must be child- resistant. Sale/distribution of electronic smoking devices to persons under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays restricted to tobacco specialty stores and vending machines inaccessible to persons under age 18 or which are controlled by the seller. Purchase/possession/use of electronic smoking device by person under age 18 prohibited. Use of e-cigarettes included in definition of smoking and therefore prohibited in public places and places of employment and within 20 feet of entrances, exits, windows, air intakes and ventilation systems thereof."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 58 & 59.)

Ohio
""Alternative nicotine products must be sold in the same minimum quantities as manufacturer’ s container. Sale/distribution of alternative nicotine products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 18 or under control of owner. Purchase/possession/use of alternative nicotine products not allowed for persons under age 18 unless a parent accompanies them. Use of electronic nicotine delivery systems, which includes e- cigarettes, prohibited in the capitol buildings."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 61.)

Oklahoma
""Purchase/possession of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machines sales are restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 18. Distribution of free vapor products to persons under 18 or on any public street, sidewalk, or park that is within 300 feet of any playground, school, or other facility used primarily by persons under the age of 18 prohibited. Self-service displays of vapor products restricted to adult-only facilities."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 62 & 63.)

Oregon
""Inhalant delivery systems must be sold in child-resistant packaging which is not attractive to persons under age 18, and “labeled in accordance with rules adopted by the authority."" Sale of inhalant delivery system to person under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays of inhalant delivery systems prohibited. Purchase/possession of inhalant delivery system by person under age 18 prohibited unless in private residence with consenting parent or guardian. Vending sales of inhalant delivery systems restricted to adult-only facilities. Public/private schools, youth correction and juvenile detention facilities must prohibit possession of inhalant delivery systems by persons under age 18 present at facility or at facility-sponsored event. Aerosolizing or vaporizing inhalants in public places, places of employment, jury rooms, at least 75% of hotel rooms, child care homes/centers, and within 10 feet of entrances, exits, windows or ventilation intakes of enclosed areas prohibited. Hospitals may not permit use of “inhalant delivery system[s]"" in hospital or within 10 feet of a doorway, window or ventilation intake thereof. Use of inhalant delivery system in car while person under age 18 is present prohibited. Use of e-cigarettes prohibited on campus of Southern Oregon University."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 63, 64 & 65.)

Pennsylvania
""A tobacco products tax is imposed on the dealer or manufacturer at the time the tobacco product is first sold to a retailer in this Commonwealth at the rate of 55¢ per ounce for the purchase of any tobacco product other than electronic cigarettes. The tax rate shall include a proportionate tax at the rate of 55¢ per ounce on all fractional parts of an ounce. The tax imposed on tobacco products other than electronic cigarettes that weigh less than 1.2 ounces per container is equal to the amount of the tax imposed on tobacco products other than electronic cigarettes that weigh 1.2 ounces. The tax shall be collected from the retailer by whomever sells the tobacco product to the retailer and remitted to the department. Any person required to collect this tax shall separately state the amount of tax on an invoice or other sales document.

A tobacco products tax is imposed on the dealer or manufacturer at the time the electronic cigarette is first sold to a retailer in this Commonwealth at the rate of 40% on the purchase price charged to the retailer for the purchase of electronic cigarettes. The tax shall be collected for the retailer by whomever sells the electronic cigarette to the retailer and remitted to the department. Any person required to collect this tax shall separately state the amount of tax on an invoice or other sales document.

A retailer may only purchase tobacco products from a licensed dealer. If the tax is not collected by the seller from the retailer, the tax is imposed on the retailer at the time of purchase at the same rate as in subsections and based on the retailer’s purchase price of the tobacco products. The retailer shall remit the tax to the department.

The tax is imposed on an unclassified importer at the time of purchase at the same rate as in subsections and based on the unclassified importer’s purchase price of the tobacco products. The unclassified importer shall remit the tax to the department."" (Mechling, Tim. ""Vaping Regulations by State: Ted Talks Trash on Tyranny - Mt Baker Vapor.)""

Rhode Island
""Electronic nicotine delivery system must be sold in “original, factory- wrapped package."" Retailers of electronic nicotine delivery system products must obtain a license. Sale/distribution of electronic nicotine delivery system to persons under age 18 prohibited. Public use/possession of electronic nicotine-delivery systems by persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase of electronic nicotine-delivery systems by persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine restricted to locked machines in locations continually supervised and in direct line of sight of authorized person on a business premises or in locations inaccessible to persons under age 21. Distribution of free electronic nicotine-delivery system to persons under age 18 or within 500 feet of any school prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 65 & 66.)

South Carolina
""Sale/distribution of alternative nicotine products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession of alternative nicotine products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Vending machine sales restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 18 or locked and under control of owner. "" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 66 & 67.)

South Dakota
""Vapor products must be sold in original manufacturer’ s packaging. Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession/ use of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Distribution of free vapor products within 500 feet of school, playground, or other child-focused facility prohibited. Self-service displays of vapor products restricted to tobacco specialty store or vending machines inaccessible to persons under age 18."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 66 & 67.)

Tennessee
""Liquid nicotine containers must be child-resistant. Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 years prohibited. Purchase/possession of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Distribution of free vapor products prohibited on “any public street, sidewalk, or park."""" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 69.)

Texas
""Liquid nicotine sold as an accessory for an e-cigarette must be sold in a child- resistant container unless prefilled and sealed by the manufacturer and not intended to be opened by a consumer. Sale/distribution of e- cigarettes to persons under age 18. Persons making delivery sales of e-cigarettes must register and comply with certain reporting requirements. Purchase/possession/use of e- cigarettes by persons under age 18 years prohibited unless possession occurs in the presence of “adult parent,"" guardian or spouse. Self-service/vending sales of e-cigarettes restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 18. Use of e-cigarettes restricted to designated areas in schools, elevators, enclosed theaters, libraries, museums, hospitals, certain buses, planes and trains. School trustees must prohibit e- cigarette use and student possession of e-cigarettes at “a school-related or school sanctioned activity on or off school property."" Use of vapor products is prohibited inside Department of Criminal Justice facilities, but permitted in designated outdoor areas."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 71 & 72.)

Utah
""Sales of electronic cigarette products must comply with packaging, labeling, and content/ingredient restrictions adopted by the Department of Health. Including packaging in a child-resistant container, nicotine content displayed on label, and safety warning, required, among other things. Selling/distributing electronic cigarettes to persons under age 19 prohibited. Purchase/ possession of electronic cigarette by person aged 18 years or younger prohibited.Self-service displays and vending machine sales restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 19 without a parent or guardian. Retail tobacco specialty businesses (tobacco product sales, including e-cigarettes, account for more than 35% of total annual gross receipts) must be licensed by counties and municipalities. Location of tobacco retail specialty businesses minimally restricted relative to schools, child care facilities, churches, libraries, playgrounds, other tobacco specialty shops, and other facilities. Retailers of electronic cigarette products must obtain a license from the State Tax Commission. Use of e-cigarettes included in definition of smoking and therefore similarly restricted in public indoor places except vape shops restricting entry to persons 19 and older. Electronic cigarettes prohibited in correctional facilities. School boards directed to adopt rules prohibiting use and possession of electronic cigarettes on school property and at sponsored activities. "" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 72, 73, & 74.)

Vermont
""Liquid nicotine must be sold in child-resistant packaging, excluding pre- filled cartridges not intended to be opened by consumer. Sale/distribution of tobacco substitutes to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession of tobacco substitutes by persons under age 18 prohibited. Retailers of tobacco substitutes required to obtain a license. Self-service displays and vending machine sales restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 18 years. Use of tobacco substitutes prohibited at child care facilities. Use of tobacco substitutes prohibited on “public school grounds"" and at sponsored events. Use of tobacco substitutes prohibited in workplaces (but this does not apply to vape shops). Use of tobacco substitutes prohibited in indoor public places and certain outdoor areas on state property similarly to smoking. Use of tobacco substitutes prohibited in cars with young children."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 75 & 76.)

Virginia
""Liquid nicotine must be sold in a child-resistant container. Sale/distribution of nicotine vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession of nicotine vapor product by person under age 18 prohibited. School boards directed to develop and implement policy to prohibit e- cigarette use on school bus, school property and at school-sponsored activities."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 76 & 77.)

Washington
""Liquid nicotine containers must be labeled with warnings concerning nicotine, keeping away from children, age restrictions and include nicotine content. Liquid nicotine containers must be child- resistant. Sale of vapor products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Retailers of vapor products required to obtain a license. Purchase/possession of vapor products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays of vapor products prohibited except in retailers inaccessible to persons under age 18. Samples of vapor products must take place within licensed retail premises that is restricted to those over the age of 18 years, contain no nicotine (unless “customer explicitly consents""), and use a disposable mouthpiece. Free vapor product distribution prohibited unless part of in- person transaction/sale of vapor product. Use of vapor products prohibited in and on grounds of child care facilities, schools, and playgrounds, school buses and elevators, and within 500 feet of schools. Use of electronic cigarettes within public institutions of higher education restricted through regulation. (e.g., Eastern Washington University, Peninsula College, Lake Washington Institute of Technology and University of Washington."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 78, 79 & 80.)

West Virginia
""Sale/distribution of vapor products to persons under age 18 years prohibited. Vending machine sales of vapor products restricted to places inaccessible to persons under age 18. Use/possession of tobacco products or tobacco-derived products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Use of tobacco- derived products prohibited in schools and on school grounds except those areas not used for instructional purposes and inaccessible to students."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 81 & 82.)

Wisconsin
""Sale/distribution of nicotine products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase/possession of nicotine products by persons under age 18 prohibited."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 84.)

Wyoming
""Liquid nicotine containers must “be sold in child resistant packaging."" Sales/distribution/delivery of tobacco products to persons under age 18 prohibited. Purchase of tobacco products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Possession/use of tobacco products by persons under age 18 prohibited. Self-service displays and vending machine sales restricted to locations inaccessible to persons under age 18."" (Public Health Law Center. Pg 84 & 85.)

Source:
U.S. E-Cigarette Regulation: A 50-State Review."" Public Health Law Center. Public Health and Tobacco Policy Center and Tobacco Control Legal Consortium, 15 June 2016. Web. 26 Sept. 2016. http://publichealthlawcenter.org/sites/default/files/tclc-50state-The-Legal-Landscape-for-Electronic-Cigarettes-2016.pdf

Mechling, Tim. ""Vaping Regulations by State: Ted Talks Trash on Tyranny - Mt Baker Vapor."" Mt Baker Vapor. N.p., 03 Sept. 2016. Web. 26 Sept. 2016. http://blog.mtbakervapor.com/vaping-regulations-state-ted-talks-trash-tyranny/

"

Jun 22nd 2022

Recent Posts

Don't Miss Out